The Major Cities of Romania

Romania has about 21.400.000 inhabitants and is divided in 41 counties. The capital of Romania is the Municipality of Bucharest with about 2.000.000 inhabitants, being the largest city in the country. The other most important towns in Romania are Constanta, Brasov, Cluj-Napoca, Sibiu, Timisoara and Iasi. The largest, most populated cities in Romania are: Bucharest (the capital), with around 2 million inhabitants, Constanta, the biggest Romanian harbour, with a local population of around 300.000 people, and Iasi (310.00 inhabitants), Timisoara (311.000 inhabitants) and Cluj-Napoca (306.000 inhabitants) - all great cultural and academic centres.

Bucharest (Romanian: Bucureşti) is the capital city and the commercial centre of Romania. It is located in the southeast of the country. [...]

Situated in the heart of Romania, the city of Brasov (German: Kronstadt) benefits from the influence of an ancient history. [...]

Constanta is located in a region of Romania called Dobrogea which is the land between the Danube River to the west and Black Sea to the east. [...]

Iași, situated in the North-East of Romania is the political, economic and cultural centre of Moldavia and one of the oldest cities in Romania. [...]

Cluj-Napoca, the capital of Transylvania, can trace its origins back to the 2nd century AD, when the Dacian settelement "Napuca" is first mentioned. [...]

Timișoara is located in the Banat region in western Romania. Frequently referred to as 'Little Vienna', Timisoara has always been a progressive, cosmopolitan city. [...]

Romania has many other cities, large and small. Here a list of Romanias TOP20 cities [...]